Meet Danielle!

Alexandra Weinberger

Danielle

 

What do you do at Toronto Family Doulas?

I am a postpartum and overnight doula, which means I get to support new families as they adjust to life with a new baby. I help with breastfeeding, offer information about newborn care, and (hopefully) give new parents a chance to get some extra rest.

What brought you to doula work?

As long as I can remember I have wanted to work with pregnant people and their (growing) families. Once I experienced the birth of my own children, I realized quickly that I never wanted to do anything else other than to do the work of supporting families through birth and their transition into parenthood. I am passionate about offering pregnant people and new families choice in the kind of care they receive and I want my passion and excitement about birth to translate into personalized and respectful support. There is also nothing quite like being a witness to those first few weeks of parenting a new baby. It’s kind of magical.

Who is your family?

My little family includes Matthew, my partner, and our two little girls. Alyce is in grade three and Shira is in kindergarten. We live in Toronto with four (yes, four) cats. My entire family is used to me going on about birth and babies.

What is your favourite food?

Definitely pizza, thin crust with lots of vegetables and feta cheese. And chocolate chip cookies.

What is your favourite book?

It’s so hard to choose just one! I think it would have to be Anne of Green Gables.

What is your favourite movie?

The English Patient.

What do you most love about postpartum work?

I love being invited into these otherwise very private moments in a family’s life. These moments are quiet, but intense. With overnight doula work especially, I love the feeling of holding the space for parents as they adjust to a new life.

What is something we’re unlikely to know about you?

That I secretly dream of living on a farm one day.

What education and training do you have?

I have trained as a birth doula and I’m working on my formal certification as postpartum doula. I am also currently a student midwife at Ryerson University. I am certified in both adult and child CPR. In a previous life I also completed graduate work in the history of religions and have taught at the University of Toronto and Queen’s University.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

I would hop on a plane and head to northern France, rent a little house, and explore (and by explore, I mean eat).

What do you hope to accomplish this year?
Professionally, I would like to complete my postpartum doula certification and continue my midwifery training. On a more personal level, it is my goal to learn how to cook as much healthy and nourishing food as I can get my hands on. I love to bake, but it’s time to make things with ingredients other than butter and sugar!

No comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *